Showing posts with label Argentina: Stadiums. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Argentina: Stadiums. Show all posts

Imagens of "Bombonera " Stadium, 2008/9




View Larger Map


Source: http://www.bocareydecopas.com.ar; http://www.bocampeonweb.com.ar/, http://www.futbolamil.com

BOMBONERA STADIUM

La Bombonera en 1940.
"La Bombonera" 1940.

La Bombonera hasta el año 1995.
"La Bombonera", until 1995

La Bombonera remodelada
"La Bombonera", since 1996.


The Estadio Alberto J. Armando (formerly the Estadio Camilo Cichero) is a stadium located in the La Boca district of Buenos Aires. Widely known as La Bombonera (the Chocolate Box) due to its shape, with a "flat" stand on one side of the pitch and three steep stands round the rest of the stadium.
The stadium is owned by Boca Juniors, one of Argentina's most famous football clubs. The unusual shape of the stadium has led to it having excellent acosutics and the Boca support being nicknamed "La Doce" (The 12th man).

Three sides of the Bombonera are made up of traditional stands. However, the fourth side had to be built vertically, with several seating areas stacked one on top of the other, to stay within the stadium's property. La Bombonera is renowned for vibrating when fans start to jump in rhythm. In particular, the unique vertical side will sway slightly, leading to the phrase "The Bombonera does not tremble. It beats". (Spanish: La Bombonera no tiembla. Late)[citation needed]

Stadium history

Work began on constructing the stadium on 18 February 1938, and Boca played their home matches at the Ferro Carril Oeste Stadium until the new stadium was built. The stadium finally opened on 25 May 1940 with a friendly match between Boca and San Lorenzo, which the home side won 2-0 with both goals score by Ricardo Alarcón. The stadium, which was originally named Estadio Camilo Cichero, after then club president, Camil Cichero, had two tiers, and in 1949 the club decided to add a third tier, which was completed in 1953, giving the stadium its nickname La Bombonera.

Floodlights were installed in 1952, so that games could be played in the evenings and thus allowing the stadium to host international matches.

The side opposite the Casa Amarilla railway platforms remained mostly unbuilt until the 1990s, when it was upgraded with new balconies and executive boxes, when between 1995 and 1996 the stadium underwent a major renovation, under Mauricio Macri’s presidency in order to raise its capacity from 49,000 to 57,395. The old Executive boxes on Del Valle Iberlucea Street were demolished and replaced by a small tier over which the current executive boxes were built.

The stadium was officially renamed Estadio Alberto J. Armando on 27 December 2000, named after Alberto Armando a former club president who had promised a major renovation of La Bombonera after his election in 1975, but whose plans were delayed by the country's political and economical situation at the time.

La Bombonera currently has a capacity of around 57,395 and the club's popularity make tickets hard to find, especially for the Superclásico derby against River Plate.

Out of its capacity of 57,395, there are 37,538 seats, 2780 are boxes and 17,077 standing. Both its interior and exterior are lined with a number of murals painted by the artist Pérez Celis depicting many of the club's legendary players and aspects of the district's culture, such as the life of Italian immigrants. The black and white Coca-Cola advertisement banners that hang in the stadium are the only ones in the world not to use Coca Cola's trademark red, as Boca's arch rivals River Plate play in red and white.

On 1 August 2001 Boca took on a commitment to provide an improved service at all events held at the stadium, be they sports matches or shows. The aim was to implement a Quality management system which would enable the stadium's owners to achieve a higher standard of excellence.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org; http://lapaginabostera.netfirms.com

"Monumental de Nuñez" Stadium, 2008/9




View Larger Map

Source: http://www.enjoy-argentina.org

History of Estadio Monumental Nuñez


1901 "Little field" from Darsena Sur.

1923 The historical field of "Albear y Tagle".

In 1934, River Plate was already 33 years old. It had already achieved an amateur title and another as a professional team. It was already known as the millionaires due to their spectacular signs ups. Liberty was already chairman, the first of his four terms. Albear and Tagle stadium was getting too small due to the amount of fervent fans.

On October 31st 1934, the bill of sale was signed for the purchase of 83.950 square meters of land, 35.000 of which were given to them by the Municipality, for a new stadium at Nuñez. As the Centenario Avenue was to pass by there, as Municipal property, River was exempted roadway tax. Many people thought this was a wild idea because the place was considered inhospitable and unappreciated, anyhow their first stage had taken place. On May 25th 1935, the foundation stone was laid on the property of Centenario Avenue and the Río de La Plata river. On December 1st of that year, the Board of Directors presented the clubs members at a Special Assembly the approved draughts and a detailed review of how they were going to get down to work. A $2.500.000 loan was granted by the Government and on September 27th 1936, construction started under the supervision of the architects José Aslan and Héctor Ezcurra.

Thus, a new battle to gain the river bed started. The initial cost reached the sum of $4.479.545, 80, 3 million pesos were reduced when the Board decided to leave out the building of the North Grandstand.

A special characteristic of this construction was that a direct foundation was chosen, at six to eight meters deep, opencast, in the open air to allow stability of the land and water pumping to avoid it sprouting up. The construction of all three grandstands took two years. 50 km of rows were built, with 26.000 square meters of concrete and framework of almost 3.000 tons of steel. A few years later, during the Second World War, the same steel used would have cost more than the whole stadium.

May was always a special month for River Plate: therefore its inauguration month. On Wednesday 25th, about 8.000 people attended the resection of an Argentine flag and one of our club, financed by a group of members and sang the National Anthem and River Plate's Hymn.River played against Peñarol (a team from Uruguay). River beat them 3-1.

If something was lacking in this National Symbol, it was accomplished when the 1978 World Cup took place. With the construction of the missing wing, with less capacity, grandstands for a total of 76.609 spectators, capacity that had never existed at any stadium before. The unforgettable inauguration took place on June 1st (West Germany vs. Poland), another seven more meetings, Argentinean's victory, River Plate's titles, plus the international consecrations.

On November 29th 1986, a great act of justice took place, the majestic building was named: Antonio Vespucio Liberti.

Monumental Stadium "Antonio Vespucio Liberti"
Total Capacity: 56449 seats
Covered Seats: 25568 seats
Year of Construction: May 25th 1938. Inaugural match was River vs. Peñarol (Montevideo- Uruguay).
Year of Reconstruction: World Cup 1978 - Headquarters: Argentina.

1978 FIFA World Cup, Games played in Monumental

Date Round Group Team 1 Vs. Team 2
June 1 1 2 West Germany 0-0 Poland
June 2 1 1 Argentina 2-1 Hungary
June 6 1 1 Argentina 2-1 France
June 10 1 1 Italy 1-0 Argentina
June 14 2 A West Germany 0-0 Italy
June 18 2 A Italy 1-0 Austria
June 21 2 A Netherlands 2-1 Italy
June 24 Third place
Brazil 2-1 Italy
June 25 Final
Argentina 3-1 (AET) Netherlands



Source: http://www.cariverplate.com.ar; http://en.wikipedia.org

Contact Form

Name

Email *

Message *